• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • RhinoinTx
    Unwashed
    • Sep 2018

Complete Upper or Swap barrel and Bolt

I am very new to the AR scene. I have a AR in 556 and have a new 18" group by barrel and bolt in the mail. Question is do I swap them out or build a complete 6.5 Upper so I can just swap them out. If I go complete upper I need serious guidance on what to build.
  • A5BLASTER
    Chieftain
    • Mar 2015

I say build a new upper, that way after you get addicted to the grendel you will still have a full 556 upper you can sell and make back most of what it cost to build the grendel upper.

Comment

• grayfox
      Chieftain
      • Jan 2017

Build the upper. It's not that hard just take your time. Get the upper-receiver block ("Delta Series Upper Receiver AR-15 Action Vise Block Clamp") that folds over the upper recvr and holds it all in a vice from Wheeler engineering.
      I usually get an "upper assembly" that has the dust cover and fwd assist already installed, then go from there. Then you can swap uppers and pretty much have have 2 for 1 type of thing.
      Aero makes a good one, so is BCM but the BCM is really tight (there's easy trick to getting the barrel fitted in.. no sweat).
      "Down the floor, out the door, Go Brandon Go!!!!!"

Comment

• LRRPF52
        Super Moderator
        • Sep 2014

New upper. Get a made in Texas LaRue Stealth 2.0 upper/handguard combo.

Any decent AR15 bolt carrier and small parts will work, but I personally have had best results with BCM, PF, and LaRue.

I really like the Bootleg adjustable gas carriers, which might be something to consider with an 18" MLGS.

Set aside a good portion of your budget for optics and a quality mount.
        NRA Basic, Pistol, Rifle, Shotgun, RSO

CCW, CQM, DM, Long Range Rifle Instructor

6.5 Grendel Reloading Handbooks & chamber brushes can be found here:

www.AR15buildbox.com

Comment

• RhinoinTx
          Unwashed
          • Sep 2018

Thanks,