• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Flight Medic
    Bloodstained
    • Sep 2019

PRS equipment questions

Im fairly new to precision shooting. I mean, I did qualify for "Rifle Expert" with BUIS back in the days of my youth in the USMC, but I'm brand new to shooting with a high-power optic. I'm trying to learn all the ins-and-outs of plinking targets at long range, but I'm finding it a bit overwhelming (atmospheric conditions, "Coriolis effect", gyroscopic spin, multiple wind values, updrafts, downdrafts, etc, etc). I mean, I understand the terminology, but exactly how to apply it all is challenging to say the least. I want to give myself (and my aging eyes) every advantage possible, so I will invest in whatever equipment I need to do this proper.

I purchased a ballistic app, but while perusing it today I noticed it requires a lot of input I would not be able provide (or would have to guesstimate). Wondering how many target shooters here use a Weather Meter in addition to their ballistic app. I saw a few different models of the "Kestrel" brand, but not sure which one would be best for my application. For instance, is the rotating vane accessory helpful?

Next, is the muzzle velocity listed on the ammo box sufficient, or is having a chronograph the only way to truly get accurate data on your ammo?

One last question... if you're shooting at a range that already has the targets measured out, is a laser range finder necessary?

Any advice greatly appreciated
  • BCHunter
    Warrior
    • Jan 2018

The short answer is your shooting solution is only as good as the data you put in.

So on site current wind is important.

Velocity on a box is always exaggerated for best conditions and usually 24" barrel. Do you reload?,...chronograph is important here if you do.

Having said that does all the equipment cost justify your use?
    Is this for competition with purse on line?