Clear All
  • Redomen
    Warrior
    • Jun 2016

Failure to lock

• A5BLASTER
    Chieftain
    • Mar 2015

Sounds like the brass is on the long sized from the factory.

If you tried 10 rounds from the same box of factory ammo and 3 did the same thing, that too me sounds like hornady didn't get those cases trimmed down to proper length.

Just what I think, I'm no expert for sure.

Comment

• A5BLASTER
      Chieftain
      • Mar 2015

First thing I would do is tear your bolt and carrier down and strip clean them and clean the chamber up very good as well.

Looks like you have smashed brass shavings on the face of the bolt lugs, I would be willing too bet your chamber is just slap full of trash and carbon and that might be causing the issue.

I would clean everything really really well and then retry some rounds and see what if it does it again.

I have ran my rifles dirty before but I have never seen smashed brass shavings on the face of my bolt lugs before.

Comment

• bj139
        Chieftain
        • Mar 2017

You could measure the case with a caliper to determine if it is too long. Compare to SAAMI values.
        If headspace issue, you could try to place an empty 357 mag case over the bullet and measure from base to base.
        Subtract length of 357 mag case to find headspace length. Compare to other cases which do chamber.

In your picture, there is also a HUGE dent in the case shoulder that may be the problem.
        Last edited by bj139; 11-13-2018, 03:45 PM.

Comment

• LRRPF52
          Super Moderator
          • Sep 2014

Do factory Hornady rounds fall free from a clean chamber after being fully seated in the chamber by hand?

I don't let a barrel go into an upper unless factory and a set of my dummy cartridges drop free from a full seat in the chamber.
          NRA Basic, Pistol, Rifle, Shotgun, RSO

CCW, CQM, DM, Long Range Rifle Instructor

6.5 Grendel Reloading Handbooks & chamber brushes can be found here:

www.AR15buildbox.com

Comment