Help!! My A2 flash hider won't set properly....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Grendel-Gene

Help!! My A2 flash hider won't set properly....

I got a Liberty 18 inch Grendel barrel and I got an Alexander Arms A2 flash hider... So far, so good.

But when I install the flash hider and torque it down reasonably ( not sure of the precise amount of FT / Lbs, but I am a mechanic... ), the bottom of the flash hider comes to rest between the 7 and 8 o'clock position.... and not the 6 o'clock (as it should).

So.....

Do I need some more or some different washers? I only have what came with the flash hider from Alexander Arms.....

By the was, this is yet another reason for me to dislike the A2s... and love the A1s!!!!

Thanks.

do you have crush washer? ( slight Convex shaped aka dome shape and not split)
    If so back the Hider off re index and reapply until the correct alignment is done. BTW what torque value are you going for?
    If all else fails drive North to Arkansas I'll help ya brother

look here
    Last edited by Guest; 12-29-2011, 01:06 AM. Reason: hyperlink

Comment

• Grendel-Gene

I do have the crush washer.... it was supplied with the A2.... it doesn't get me where i need to be!!!!
      Last edited by Guest; 12-29-2011, 02:59 AM.

Comment

After locking your barrel in clamps in your vice (not the upper, but barrel), you can do at least one of two things.

1) Use Peel washers to index properly.

2) Remove some material from the face or back of the crush washer.

Comment

• leopard6.5

Grendel-Gene: The last A2 flash hider I put on was about a month and a half ago on a Satern Spartan barrel from AA.

I used a lot more torgue than I thought I would need to, to finally get it to start crushing and allow me to go around enough to align it right.

Once I got it to start crushing the washer it seemed easier to turn but I thought I was going to twist the barrel by the amount of force I was using.