• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • jertex
    Unwashed
    • Dec 2020

New Grendel upper won't chamber a round properly

I'm new to the 6.5 Grendel & thought I would start my experiment by purchasing a relatively affordable upper from 80-lowers.com. The upper arrived and then the ammo search began, which of course, there isn't much out there. My son, who has two 6.5 Grendels, happen to have saved all of his brass, even though he doesn't reload, so he sent his Hornady, once-fired brass and hand loaded a few rounds using my Lee classic turret press and Lee dies.

When I try to chamber a round, the bolt is jammed in there tight and the only way to extract the cartridge is to gently tap on the side discharge handle until it finally breaks free. While I don't have a cartridge gauge for the Grendel yet, I measured all dimensions and they are well within maximum specs according to all the reloading resources that I have (Lee, Lyman, Hornady). The brass is pretty scratched up when ejected. I decided not to fire a round yet until I can determine the cause of my problem. I've contacted the seller and they have pics & said that they will get back to me on Monday, but I suspect that they have no idea why I'm having this problem. Below is a pic of an extracted round, unfired.

brass damage from defective upper_reduced.jpg
  • jertex
    Unwashed
    • Dec 2020

Here are a couple of pics of the cartridge sitting in the chamber.

i-Rj3H8tk-X2.jpg
    i-Th42J9X-X2.jpg

Comment

• VASCAR2
      Chieftain
      • Mar 2011

Last edited by VASCAR2; 12-12-2020, 05:04 PM.

Comment

• BehindEnemyLines
        Bloodstained
        • Apr 2019

Did you resize the brass prior to reloading it? If it was fired from your sons Grendel those brass would be formed to his chamber, not yours.

Will a reloaded round fall into the chamber without the the BCG installed? Does it also stick?

What did you set the COL of your reloads too? What bullet are you using?

Comment

• jertex