• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • etmci
    Unwashed
    • Jan 2020

Split Necks in Ruger American

I'm having a problem with split necks in my Ruger bolt rifle. This is happening with new Starline brass shooting Hornady 123 grain SST bullets. My handloads are not hot or excessive in any way. The loads shoot and function well in my AR. Should I consider annealing the cases? I have no experience with annealing and have never thought it necessary with unfired brass. Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Ruger makes lousy barrels. If their throat is grossly tight, really jamming the neck when the round is chambered, you can crack the necks. If their throat is grossly oversized, you can crack the necks.

If you are using Lee dies, their sizing die overworks the brass and you will end up with split necks but it will take a few shots.

I suspect the Ruger chamber is grossly oversize and if you are using a Lee sizing die, you are work hardening the neck.

LR-55
    Last edited by LR1955; 10-31-2022, 12:40 PM.
  • DIANEB
    Warrior
    • Oct 2020

Originally posted by etmci View Post
    I'm having a problem with split necks in my Ruger bolt rifle. This is happening with new Starline brass shooting Hornady 123 grain SST bullets. My handloads are not hot or excessive in any way. The loads shoot and function well in my AR. Should I consider annealing the cases? I have no experience with annealing and have never thought it necessary with unfired brass. Thanks in advance for your thoughts.
    Wow that's weird I was able to get 8 loads before a few of my Starline brass started splitting...

Comment

• northdude
      Bloodstained
      • May 2020

I was having that problem with hornady brass. I annealed it and now use a lee collet die. If you suspect an oversized chamber see how a projectile feels in a fired unsized case

Comment

• Eye_guy
        Bloodstained
        • Dec 2020

Last edited by Eye_guy; 11-05-2022, 01:07 PM.

Comment

• sundowner
          Chieftain