• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • BL2551
    Unwashed
    • Oct 2023

my first 6.5 G build, not going into battery

So I am brand new to the 6.5 grendel. I have built several AR's in the past in various calibers (multiple 223's, 300BO, and even 9mm), and had no problems previously. This time I put it all together and took it to the range loaded it up, released the bolt, aim, and click... didn't fire. the first round when I release the bolt doesn't go into battery properly. Once I get it in place the follow up shots cycle perfectly, but I am almost always having problems with that first round seating in properly. What could be the problem? This one was built to become my go to deer hunting rifle, so not knowing if my first shot is going to fire is a big concern.
  • mtnlvr
    Warrior
    • Feb 2019

Is it not in battery? Does the forward assist get it there?

How are you chambering the first round? With the bolt catch? Or charging handle?

I feel like I had a fail to strip the first round with mine but I don't recall how I resolved that.

Comment

• sundowner
      Chieftain
      • Nov 2017

It may be the springs in the mag .

Comment

• BL2551
        Unwashed
        • Oct 2023

I tried smacking the bolt catch and using the charge handle, and have had the same problem. Might be less problem if I use the charging handle to pull the bolt all the way back, but still not consistent. the forward assist does seem to help, but it wasn't always enough by itself. It functions perfectly when I finally do get it all the way in.

Comment

• BL2551
          Unwashed
          • Oct 2023

sundowner, I do wonder if it is a mag issue. Once I think I remember using my hand to push the mag in a little more and it actually stripping the round easier and the bolt closing more fully. Maybe I should try with other mags as well. It would be great if it's that simple of a fix.

Comment

• grayfox
            Chieftain
            • Jan 2017