Proper recoil spring diagnosis?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Proper recoil spring diagnosis?

The Grendel is my first AR so I'm still learning and trying to improve the performance of my rifle. From reading the Grendel Forum where your brass lands seems to indicates if the rifle is recoiling too much or too little. Is this correct or not?

If so, my Grendel is kicking brass out in front of me at 1:30 about 4-8'. I'm using both factory and reloaded ammo out of a 16" mid-length barrel. Shooting one round at a time occasionally the brass doesn't clear the receiver and ends up lying on top of the magazine follower. The recoil seems a little weak but up until now my bread and butter gun was a 35 Whelen. Does this indicate the proper recoil spring or is there something else going on?

Sounds to me like a weak ejector possibly. Push down on your ejector plunger. It should resist your force significantly. That is odd to have a 1:30 ejection pattern. 3:00 or thereabouts seems more common if your upper has a brass deflector, as most do. Different charge weights and operating system balances will produce different patterns, but an ejector can make the biggest influence on whether the spent case clears the ejection port or not. Since you had a case left on top of the magazine, that indicates to me either an ejector or extractor issue, but since it was extracted, that points more to the ejector.

Give us a break down of your rifle's components, to include barrel/gas system length, bolt carrier weight, recoil spring and buffer types (weigh the buffer if you have to), adjustable gas block or not, and cartridge components, to include charge weight and bullet type/weight.

Comment