• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • BluntForceTrauma
    Administrator
    • Feb 2011

6.5 Grendel Variants, Good or Bad?

As the 6.5 Grendel continues to grow in popularity, winning hearts and minds (much to the consternation of the feral hog population), more and more vendors want a piece of the pie, and they want their products to stand out from the crowd by making little tweaks here and there, deviating just a bit from the SAAMI standard.

It started with the .264LBC, and now some are advertising a Grendel II.

Variant chamberings are nothing new. It is a ballistic fact that you'll get best accuracy by tuning your chamber to match your bullet. Benchrest guys have been doing this since the invention of the wheel.

But there are standards for factory ammunition. Is there not a SAAMI specification for .223 Remington? Is there not a SAAMI specification for .308 Winchester? I'm not an expert, so I don't know. And yet there are a myriad of .223 and .308 chambering variations. Now, I DO know there is a SAAMI specification for 6.5 Grendel, ensuring that all rifles so labeled work safely with all factory ammunition so labeled. All others that chamber factory 6.5 Grendel ammunition are variants of one sort or another, created for one reason or another, usually profit motivated.

As aficionados of the 6.5 Grendel cartridge, as owners and shooters, it's not our job to carry water for one vendor versus another. We want more and more vendors jumping on board, we want marketplace competition to give us more variety and better quality at lower prices, hallelujah and amen.

Now, the question, and the debate: Do 6.5 Grendel variants promote or detract from the long-term future of the cartridge?

John

P.S. Whichever of the Horde makes the most reasoned arguments, whether for or against, and avoids name-calling or skull-bashing, wins a golden flagon of mead.
    :: 6.5 GRENDEL Deer and Targets :: 6mmARC Targets and Varmints and Deer :: 22 ARC Varmints and Targets