• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • drillbit
    Unwashed
    • Dec 2015

Primary Arms 1-6X ACSS

I have a new Grendel on the way(about 2 months out, yet), and I've heard good things about the Primary Arms 1-6X ACSS scope, and was wondering if anyone here had tried it out on their Grendel yet. It sounds like a great value-priced scope, but wonder how the ACSS works with the Grendel, seeing as how it was designed for 5.56/.308 rounds.
  • LR1955
    Super Moderator
    • Mar 2011

Originally posted by drillbit View Post
    I have a new Grendel on the way(about 2 months out, yet), and I've heard good things about the Primary Arms 1-6X ACSS scope, and was wondering if anyone here had tried it out on their Grendel yet. It sounds like a great value-priced scope, but wonder how the ACSS works with the Grendel, seeing as how it was designed for 5.56/.308 rounds.
    DB:

I have a lot of experience with low powered optics that use reticles like this ACSS -- which is nothing new.

Basically, it is intended for combat where a hit anywhere is good enough and shots past about 300 are problematic.

What do you want it for?

LR55

Comment

• VASCAR2
      Chieftain
      • Mar 2011

I wanted to try a variable low power optic as they seem to be getting pretty popular. As I get older my eye sight is not what it used to be and I caught a Vortex Strike Eagle on sale at Primary Arms for a great price. Rumor has it the Strike Eagle and Primary Arms 1-6 ACSS are probably manufactured in the same factory in China.

The glass on my Strike Eagle is pretty good but there is a very slight distortion around the outer edge of the glass when viewed on 6 power. The scope is bigger once mounted than I expected but it has not proven to be so heavy that I wouldn't use it. I bought the Vortex CM-202 mount which gives lower 1/3 co witness. This mount gives plenty of clearence for use with fixed front sights on AR-15's and still works with a good cheek weld on my Tavor.