X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • texasgrunt

Basic Scope Question

Guys,

I am new to using a scoped rifle. All my previous experience with rifles has been with my grandaddy's pump .22 and my trusty M16A2.

I now have a rifle that is a million times more capable than I am, but I'm working on it. That being said, I have a simple question. I need to figure out the distance between centerlines of my bore and my scope. Should be easy, but I just can't figure out how. I have a Bobro lever mount and a Leupold MK4 ER/T 4.5-14x50 on a VLTOR MUR upper.

All help is greatly appreciated.

Grunt
    Last edited by Guest; 12-06-2011, 05:41 PM. Reason: grammar
  • bwaites
    • Mar 2011

Most AR's with scopes are approx. 2.5 inches above the bore, unless tall rings are used.

I'm interested to hear if there is a tool people are using to measure that, beyond the good old MK I mod 0 eyeball!

Comment

• texasgrunt

How close is close enough? If I were to get within 1/8" or so will that be sufficient to run ballistics calculations?

Thanks for the quick response.

Grunt

Comment

You can use a micrometer from the center of the bolt, locked open, to the bottom of the scope tube, then measure scope tube & add Half that diameter to get you pretty close. Really, I'm sure within 1/8" is probably close enough. You always have to verify ballistic calculations anyway so do the best you can do with your measurement, then check it in reality.

What I found tricky was with my inclined base mount. HMMMM, I decided from the front of the chamber to the center of the scope was the best I could do & I had to guess at where the front of the chamber is & where the middle of the bore is up & down at that point. I could certainly be wrong though. LOL.

Comment

Originally posted by texasgrunt View Post
          How close is close enough? If I were to get within 1/8" or so will that be sufficient to run ballistics calculations?

Thanks for the quick response.

Grunt

Comment

• texasgrunt