• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Drift
    Warrior
    • Nov 2014

Can someone explain about eye relief.

I know what it is. What I want to know is how it fits into the relationship between magnification, and what ever else (like tube diameter or perhaps scope length or maybe bell diameter ?). And how do they figure out how "big" an eye box is anyway?
  • grayfox
    Chieftain
    • Jan 2017

I'm not a designer, but eyebox is the range in inches, between which the near glass... the ocular lens, is fully expanded to the eye. the view fully takes up the area inside the circular edge of the lens. if you go closer or farther then the viewing window shrinks. Like, 3.2-3.9"...
    "Down the floor, out the door, Go Brandon Go!!!!!"

Comment

• Bearcatrp
      Warrior
      • Apr 2018

Grayfox is spot on. This may help, look through your scope. Then move closer then farther away. To close and you see black around site picture (end of tube). Back off until sight picture fills. Worked for me mounting my scopes over the years. Am sure others have there own way of doing it. Hope they chime in to help.

Comment

• JASmith
        Chieftain
        • Sep 2014

Having once gotten a mild case of Weatherby eye (with a Weatherby no less?), I use the moving eye back and forth technique too.

I try to mount my scope so my normal head position is as far away from the scope as possible while still getting a full image in my vision.
        shootersnotes.com

"To those who have fought and almost died for it, freedom has a flavor the protected will never know."
        -- Author Unknown

"If at first you do succeed, try not to look astonished!" -- Milton Berle

Comment

• Randy99CL
          Warrior
          • Oct 2017

A few weeks ago I took my new rifle and scope into Sportman's Warehouse to buy rings. The guy at the counter had never seen anyone close his eyes to check the eyebox before.