• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • lazyengineer
    Chieftain
    • Feb 2019

Night-vision:current state in mid 2021?

Thinking about going thermal. Willing to consider the sticker shock. I'm an engineer; so I'm all about optimizing cost, but doing so to meet function, and will spend the money where I need to. FWIW, I was the first guy in the office to get an iPhone 3G; and loved every minute of it.

Leaning towards thermal vs enhanced NV, because basically thermal makes even an unobservant bad hunter, see stuff and see it fast. That would be me.

Resolution matters, and target identification matters. Weight really matters. Engagements will be from 15 yards, out to 400+ yard is possible; but I'm ok sneaking up to closer.

Dont' prioritize video recording, GPS, Wifi, or Facebook streaming capabilities.

Went the ATN route once with the cheap IR. Sold it, and won't be going back to ATN.
    Last edited by lazyengineer; 06-20-2021, 05:09 PM.
    4x P100
  • Bjorn
    Bloodstained
    • Apr 2021

Trying to figure out how to watch a thread -- get notices of posts.

Edit - Nevermind. Found it.

Comment

• TexHill
      Bloodstained
      • Jan 2019

Originally posted by lazyengineer View Post
      Thinking about going thermal. Willing to consider the sticker shock. I'm an engineer; so I'm all about optimizing cost, but doing so to meet function, and will spend the money where I need to. FWIW, I was the first guy in the office to get an iPhone 3G; and loved every minute of it.

Leaning towards thermal vs enhanced NV, because basically thermal makes even an unobservant bad hunter, see stuff and see it fast. That would be me.

Resolution matters, and target identification matters. Weight really matters. Engagements will be from 15 yards, out to 400+ yard is possible; but I'm ok sneaking up to closer.

Dont' prioritize video recording, GPS, Wifi, or Facebook streaming capabilities.

Went the ATN route once with the cheap IR. Sold it, and won't be going back to ATN.