• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • TORCHRIDER
    Unwashed
    • Jun 2021

Which scope for a new Grendel AR build?

Hey guys, I am new to the 6.5 Grendel round and new to this forum. I am a long time hunter, steel shooter and handloader.
    I built a 6.5G centered around a Larue 18" UU AR-15 kit.
    My main use for this rig will be whitetail and Hog hunting out to ranges of about 400 yards or so. Secondary use will be banging steel from 100 - 800.
    I was thinking about buying the Vortex Viper PST 2.5-10x44 EBR-1 MRAD scope currently for sale on Eurooptic.
    To me this is about the perfect magnification for a hunting rig. However, I thought I would run it by you guys before I pulled the trigger.
    Thoughts?

Vortex.JPG
  • Klem
    Chieftain
    • Aug 2013

TR,

Welcome.

"perfect magnification for a hunting rig" out to 400, but you also mention gongs at 800.

The 4x zoom ratio on this scope is 'old-school' and has been surpassed by higher ratios in recent years. Up to ten-times zoom ratios are available now, but you will pay for the privilege. So you can find a scope that will be 2.5-25x42 which will do everything you want, equally good.

The Viper is made in the Philippines; they are not Vortex's best scopes which are made in Japan, but not the worst which they make in China. For the accuracy potential of a Larue it would be about right. As long as you don't mind squinting at the long range gongs this scope will do.
    Last edited by Klem; 06-29-2021, 11:59 PM.

Comment

• tdbru
      Warrior
      • Dec 2019

Torchrider,