• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Seitz333
    Unwashed
    • Jul 2018

Hello From Virginia

Hi All.

I'm new to the AR platform and just purchased a Diamondback AR in 6.5 Grendel. I have been reloading for over 30 years. I started off with rifle and pistol then moved on to shotgun. I quit shooting/reloading about 10 years ago because of my eyesight. Recently my eye doc suggested I try Scleral lenses which have helped my vision greatly so I wanted to try shooting again. I'm liking the AR platform but coming from the Trapshooting world where gun fit is everything, I have found that with the AR I def need a better stock and a better trigger. My current trigger is about 6lbs. I have already decided to build a new 6.5 Grendel and can't wait for some input from the experts. Mainly going to use the 6.5 Grendel for target shooting.

I live in Blacksburg, VA, I'm literally 10-15min from Alexander Arms where it all started for the Grendel!

Thanks,
    Chuck
  • VASCAR2
    Chieftain
    • Mar 2011

Welcome to the Forum Chuck! I think the best trigger deal going right now is the LaRue Tactical MBT 2S for $87 and LaRue has good prices on E-Lander 6.5 Grendel mags. The MBT is a two stage trigger and comes with two trigger springs, light and heavy. The light spring gives about 2.5 pound take up and 2 pound second stage to release the hammer. I really like two stage triggers but they are numerous good single stage triggers on the market.

There is a bewildering array of butt stocks and hand guards it’s hard to choose especially without trying one first.

I put an ALG Defense hand guard on my 18” 6.5 Grendel and I really like it. They have a version on sale that is a very good price. Worth checking out. I like collapsable butt stocks but also have a rifle with a fixed A2 butt stock.

Last edited by VASCAR2; 08-01-2018, 08:17 PM.

Comment

• just_john
      Chieftain
      • Sep 2012