• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Vin
    Unwashed
    • Jul 2022

Newbie to 6.5g but not to AR

New member - first post. Thanks for letting me into the group

I'm a builder & cert armorer but actually shoot very little and know I'll get torn up over that but such is life. Only range within an hour is $1,850/year member-only lol. I prepping for my first non-5.56 build and have chosen 6.5G. My intention is to build a sub-moa weapon that can reach 600+ yards while still at a good velocity to keep a relatively flat trajectory at distance and stretch my danger space. I had started out wanting to get into 6.5C bolt action but I'm a 3+ hour drive to the closest 1,000 yard range (Tidewater VA - closest I can track down is Quantico). So I gave up on that and decided to stay inside what I'm familiar with - AR platform. Once I researched all the available cartridges it was an easy choice (given the ARC is really still boutique/rare ammo).

I don't hunt anymore so have no specific game target in mind. Would be mostly a range gun. After a couple week's research and reading I need your help. I am not a reloader/handloader. I intend to use off-the-shelf ammo which I realize could lead me to an moa weapon instead of a sub-moa weapon. Hoping to end up using Hornady ELD 123grain but will experiment to see what works best.

The barrel I'm settling on but haven't bought yet - Faxon 20" Match Series (wish they had a non-fluted version).

Talk me out of it or talk me into it.

If you have one - what muzzle device/suppressor is working for you?

What upper receiver are you using and would you recommend it. I'm leaning toward a BCM upper as I've read they run a bit small thus requiring a heat fit. As much as I would like to run a Radian or such I don't want to put more into the upper receiver than is needed. I'm a fan of the Aero M4E1 matched sets but understand this build may take something higher up the food chain.

Thanks for the input and roast LOL!

Vin