• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • caleb90
    Bloodstained
    • Jan 2019

new 6.5 owner. what powder?

i am just finishing building my ar in 6.5 grendel, barrel should be here next week. 20in hardened arms un threaded muzzle. any who i am a reloader but new to this caliber, tryin to figure out what powder to run. trying to find a powder i can run in this and my .223 .ive tried cfe 223 in my 223 with less than steller results.the weight range i tend to shoot is 90gr-123gr. the two powders that seem to come up are h335 and imr 8208. looking for best velocity and accuracy. thanks
  • Cornbread
    Warrior
    • Dec 2015

Last edited by Cornbread; 01-29-2019, 11:37 PM. Reason: Typo

Comment

• rabiddawg
      Chieftain
      • Feb 2013

8208 works best with 100 grain size bullets. If loading it under 120+ grain bullets be aware that some members have experienced pressure spikes very suddenly. Cfe tends to work better with 120 and up bullets. I have no experience with h335 and Grendel.

Your first purchase should be the Grendel reloading manuals available at ar15buildbox.com
      Last edited by rabiddawg; 01-30-2019, 12:03 AM.
      Knowing everthing isnt as important as knowing where to find it.

Mark Twain

http://www.65grendel.com/forum/showt...2-Yd-Whitetail

Comment

• Javman
        Warrior
        • Jan 2016

Have had good results with H335 and LVR with Sierra 85 grainers and 100 NBTs.

Comment

• IescapedCali
          Warrior
          • Sep 2017

Plus 1 for the Grendel Manuals. All the wheels that have been invented are written there, so you won’t need to reinvent them. You’ll also find a metric crap ton of load data catalogued there.

Comment

• LR1955
            Super Moderator
            • Mar 2011

Originally posted by caleb90 View Post